National Championships

The first Australian Powerchair Football National Championship was held in Sydney in 2011 following an international development event in Sydney. The following year the event became a stand-alone competition and has been held at Kevin Betts Stadium and Sydney’s west from 2012.

New South Wales and Queensland have dominated the competition since its inception, with both teams facing off in 5 consecutive finals. New South Wales has won 4 titles with 2015’s contest being the closest yet. The match was tied at 3-3 after extra time, with the hosts winning in a tense penalty shoot-out 4-3.

2011 – New South Wales

2012 – New South Wales

2013 – New South Wales

2014 – Queensland

2015 – New South Wales

The Ditch Cup

The annual contest between the Australian and New Zealand national teams, The Ditch Cup, has taken place at the conclusion of the Australian National Championships for the previous three years with Australia coming out winners each time. The Kiwis have cut the deficit each match, with 2015 their best effort yet.

2013 – Australia – 13-0

2014 – Australia – 6-0

2015 – Australia – 3-1

State Contribution

The Australian Powerchair Football Association features several affiliated state-based organisations. The New South Wales and Queensland Powerchair Football Associations have both established local leagues in Western Sydney and South-eastern Queensland. VEWSA (the Victorian Electric Wheelchair Sport Association) and the Western Australian Powerchair Football Association are steadily growing, with Victoria having regular competition and Western Australia holding frequent development events, while South Australia participate in the national championships.

All the State Organisations send teams to the Australian National Championships each year, generally held in Sydney around October. This event features the 5 Australian organisations as well as two regional teams from New Zealand – Auckland and Canterbury.

International Competition

Australia’s national powerchair football team, the Australian Poweroos first competed on the world stage at the 2011 FIPFA World Cup in Paris, France. The team performed admirably, placing 7th after defeating Portugal in the 7th place match.

In 2013, Australia hosted the inaugural APO (Asia Pacific Oceania Zone) Cup in Sydney at Sydney Olympic Park. Australia and Japan both entered two teams into the competition, with the Team Japan defeating Poweroos Green 2-1 after extra time.

The Poweroos also competed in the inaugural PFCA Copa Americas tournament, the zone tournament for the Americas in May 2014. The competition was held in Rio and Australia attended after accepting an invitation. The team placed 2nd, losing in the final to the two-time World Champions, the USA.